Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for leading the business in the way which it believes is most likely to lead to long-term sustainable success.

Angus Porter

Non-Executive Chairman

Angus was appointed Non-Executive Chairman on 27 April 2017, having formerly served as an Independent Non-Executive Director since 1 April 2016.

Key strengths: Angus has extensive knowledge and experience in strategy, innovation, and brand development as well as significant leadership skills.

Experience: Angus has held numerous executive and non-executive roles across a range of industry sectors, including senior marketing and general management roles at Mars, BT, Abbey National and WPP. Recently, he was Chief Executive of the Professional Cricketers' Association from 2010-2016, and Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Punch Taverns Plc. from 2012-2017.

Other directorships: Angus is Co-Chairman of Direct Wines Ltd and a Non-Executive Director of TDC A/S.

Member of the Remuneration Committee.
Member of the Nomination Committee.

Jonathan Miller

Chief Executive

Experience: Jonathan has had a major role in all of the key initiatives that have shaped the Group, including a secondary buyout in 2005, numerous corporate acquisitions and the IPO in 2014. As Chief Executive he has put in place a clear strategy and vision for the Group and led the major acquisition of 298 stores in 2016, the negotiation in 2017 of the Group’s new wholesale arrangements with Morrisons and in 2018 steered the business through the significant disruption following the collapse of P&H.

Member of the Nomination Committee

Robbie Bell

Chief Financial Officer

 Robbie was appointed as the Group’s Chief Financial Officer in January 2019.

Key strengths: Robbie has over 20 years of retail and finance experience.

Experience: Robbie was appointed CFO of Welcome Break in 2017 before taking on the role of CEO in early 2018, where he managed the sale and ownership transition of the business. From 2009–2017 he was CFO of Screwfix Direct Limited, a subsidiary of Kingfisher plc, where he oversaw significant business growth, driven by strong like-for-like sales and an extensive store opening programme. He was the UK Finance Director of Travelodge from 2006–2008. Prior to this he held a number of senior finance positions at Tesco PLC, including roles within commercial buying and convenience.

Other directorships: Robbie is a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of UP Global Sourcing Holdings plc.

Dave Thomas

Chief Operating Officer

Dave was appointed as the Group’s Chief Operating Officer in 2014 but his history with McColl’s dates back to 1998 when he joined the business as Regional Manager for convenience. He became Operations General Manager in 2000 and was made Operations Director in 2005.

Key strengths: His long career rooted in the UK supermarket and convenience sector means Dave has extensive operational knowledge, enabling him to orchestrate a process of continual improvement and modernisation of the McColl’s offering across our growing estate.

Experience: Dave’s retail career began with Iceland where he led a programme of new store openings as well as conversion of Bejam stores. Subsequently he joined Southern Co-operative as Operations Manager, developing a modern convenience format for the business. More recently within McColl’s, he successfully managed the 2017 conversion of the 298 acquired stores to the McColl’s format as well as taking a key role in the negotiations and implementation of new supply arrangements.


Georgina Harvey

Senior Independent Director

Georgina was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director on 7 February 2014 and is Chairman of the Company’s Remuneration Committee. On 24 May 2016 Georgina was appointed as the Company’s Senior Independent Director.

Key strengths: Georgina has significant experience across highly competitive consumer-facing markets and delivering successful transformational change.

Experience: Georgina started her media career at Express Newspapers plc where she was appointed Advertising Director in 1994. She joined IPC Media Limited in 1995 and went on to form IPC Advertising in 1998, where she was Managing Director. Between 2005 and 2012, Georgina was Managing Director, regionals division and a member of the Executive Committee of Trinity Mirror.

Other directorships: Georgina is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of William Hill PLC and Big Yellow Group PLC.

Member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.
Member of the Nomination Committee.

Sharon Brown

Independent Non-Executive Director

Sharon was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director on 7 February 2014 and is Chairman of the Company’s Audit & Risk Committee. Sharon previously served as the Group’s Interim Chairman.

Key strengths: Sharon has deep knowledge of finance and audit-related matters, combined with over 25 years’ experience in the retail sector.

Experience: Sharon is a management accountant and has extensive financial experience, gained whilst Finance Director and Company Secretary of Dobbies Garden Centres Limited between 1998 and 2013. She also held a senior financial position within the retail division of John Menzies plc from 1991 to 1998. She is, and has been, Audit Committee Chairman for a number of companies.

Other directorships: Sharon is a Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Chairman of Fidelity Special Values PLC, F&C Capital and Income Investment Trust plc, and Celtic plc and is a Non-Executive Director of a number of limited companies in the retail sector.

Member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
Member of the Remuneration Committee.
Member of the Nomination Committee.

Jens Hofma

Independent Non-Executive Director

Jens was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director on 1 July 2017.

Key strengths: Jens has particular expertise in consumer goods as well as the restaurant and food-to-go industry. He also possesses in-depth experience of growing multi-site businesses.

Experience: Jens is Chief Executive Officer of Pizza Hut Restaurants in the UK. He joined the Pizza Hut business in February 2009 and has since led a private equity funded buyout of its dine-in restaurants. Prior to his involvement with Pizza Hut, Jens spent five years with Yum! Brands, working in the UK and in Europe. He has also previously worked for Nestlé and McKinsey in various European countries.

Other directorships: Jens is Chief Executive Officer of Pizza Hut (UK) Limited.

Member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
Member of the Remuneration Committee.
Member of the Nomination Committee.